providing the opportunity for the sharing of

professional knowledge

Contact Us

Online Enquiry

* Required fields



The National History Competition


The National History Challenge is an exciting contest that encourages students to use research and inquiry-based learning to discover more about the past. Students are the historians. They can investigate their community, explore their own and their family’s past and consider ideas throughout history. The NHC encourages the use of primary and secondary sources and offers a variety of presentation styles. It rewards students with generous cash prizes and travel opportunities. There is NO entry fee for the NHC.


For more information go to: National History Challenge


Australian History Competition


The Competition is prepared by the History Teachers’ Association of Australia and run in conjunction with The Giant Classroom. While a primary goal has been to provide an interesting and challenging competition for students, we also see this as an opportunity to support teachers in the implementation of the new Australian Curriculum: History. It provides a quality resource that demonstrates approaches to the assessment of knowledge, skills and understandings.


In 2018 the competition will be offered to years 7, 8, 9 and 10. The Year 9 and 10 paper will be broadly based on the Australian Curriculum: History for years 9 and 10. The Year 7 and 8 paper will be broadly based on the Australian Curriculum: History for years 7 and 8. Separate prizes will be offered to state and national champions for each year group.  


For more information go to : Australian History Competition


Simpson Prize


The Simpson Prize is a national competition for Year 9 and 10 students. The competition encourages participants to focus on the significance of Anzac Day and to consider what Anzac Day means to them and to Australia.


Further detail including due dates can be found via the link Simpson Prize



2018 Anzac Spirit Study Tour participants

Darwin students:

Adine Reedman O'Loughlin Catholic College

Faiza Choudhury Darwin High School

Akiesha Brown Casuarina Senior College

Darcy Holmes St John's Catholic College

Telita Kellner O'Loughlin Catholic College

Angus Gurry Darwin Middle School

Jayna McCallum Dripstone Middle School

Joseph Haritos Nightcliff Middle School

Stephanie Scott Kormilda College


Palmerston students

Luke Secrett Palmerston Christian School

Arianna Baldieri Good Shepherd Lutheran College

Ellen Archibald Good Shepherd Lutheran College

Jasinda Bourke Palmerston Senior College


Regional Students

Crisostomo Remulla Katherine High School

Sarah Muller Our Lady of the Sacred Heart Catholic College


2018 Chaperones

  • Lieutenant Ric Mingramm from the Royal Australian Navy
  • Ms Verena Bukovac, Senior Mathematics and Science teacher at St John’s College
  • Ms Shona Ford, Senior English and Humanities teacher at Good Shepherd Lutheran College
  • Ms Jane Kearney from the Department of Trade, Business and Innovation